Cameron

Vertiginous

I’ll remember forever the miracle of green.
The way it unfolds, overnight,
starting low, springing high,
swan-diving outward from every tree trunk.
The dizzying billows and boughs of green
that hang and shiver and swing.
Spring tumbles on in a clumsy cascade
of fertility, wind, and ripening,
and the proliferation of life, vertiginous,
obscures from my eyes the winter’s bare bones.

I’ll remember forever the way that I love you,
from the untouched corners of my heart,
like the sudden multiplication of leaves upon leaves.
Like the rain kisses the earth, you kiss me
and awaken the things lying dormant within.
I love you with a heart in throbs of green.

Leave a Reply

